My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Brammeier joins MTN-Qhubeka

Category: Cycling

Matt Brammeier has signed a two-year deal with the MTN-Qhubeka team.

The team has earned a spot in the Tour de France, and a few days later the team announced the signing of the Irish rider.

"To be part of such a talented group of guys, past - present & more importantly, future champions cannot be more motivating to me,” Brammeier said in a statement issued by the team.

“I really can’t wait to get into the racing season with the team and I hope to be part of many wins this season. I really think my capabilities and best attributes are perfectly suited to supporting the top, and up and coming talents on this team."

In 2014, Brammeier raced with the Synergy Baku Cycling Project, after his previous team Champion System folded.

“He is a loyal worker for the team and at nearly 30 years of age he is bringing lots of experience to the team, especially in the Classics, where he will support Edvald Boasson Hagen, Gerald Ciolek, Tyler Farrar, Matt Goss, Theo Bos and Co,” said sport director Jens Zemke. “As a former Irish champion he rode his best season in 2011, where I worked with him at HTC Highroad. I am sure he will reach this level again with us."
Say something: