My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Vogondy retires

Category: Cycling

Frenchman Nicolas Vogondy has received no new new contract with Accent Jobs-Wanty, and he has now decided to retire from professional cycling.

"I had no news from them for some time," Vogondy said to FFC.fr about his team. "I left messages and they were unanswered, with time and experience, you know what that means. The answer fell last Friday."

"It is already the end of November, it's late, and all the teams are almost complete," Vogondy said. "I have had 17 years in the pros, I had a good time. I regret nothing. Now my phone is on, and if a team were to call me, I would look at what they have to offer, but I am under no illusions. I think the time has come to turn the page, to stop my career as a professional cyclist."

Vogondy hopes that he can remain in cycling but does not yet now what he will do.

"I'm going to take some time to think about what I can and want to do, based on my past experience in the professional world," Vogondy said.
Say something: