My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Harris extends with Telenet-Fidea

Category: Cyclo-Cross

British cyclo-cross champion Nikki Harris has extended her contract with the Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team for two years until December 31, 2015, her team announced. Harris' goal is to become cyclo-cross world champion.

"I had to other options including one from Specialized," Nikki Harris said. "I thought about both options because I wanted to try racing on the road for 100 per cent. After a few weeks I realized that I'm cross rider first and I will remain a cyclo-cross racer. I made a lot of progress and have gotten better over the whole line. This deal gives me the ambition to get even better results."

"I want and hope to become world champion, that's my main goal. That's why I will stay at Telenet-Fidea because that's the best place to be for that perspective. This is by far the best cyclo-cross team. Also importantly, I was able to improve my contract. Hans [Van Kasteren, team manager] was in a good mood when I signed."

To become cyclo-cross world champion, Harris will have to beat Marianne Vos (Rabo Women). Currently Vos is taking a break to undergo minor surgery on her back, but she will be for the Christmas races and the rest of the cross season.

Harris won the first round of the Bpost Bank cyclo-cross series in Ronse two weeks ago. On Friday, she finished third in the second round at the Koppenbergcross. This means that she remains the overall leader of the series.

"I'm not happy with my race. I felt tired and couldn't fight up against Helen [Wyman] and Sanne [Cant]. I didn't start well too. Hopefully it'll be different at the European championships on Sunday."
Say something: