My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Rodriguez plans for future without Katusha - will await the CAS verdict

Category: Cycling

Joaquim RodriguezJoaquim Rodriguez can leave Katusha if the team fails to obtain a WorldTour licence. He has already talked to some teams and seems ready to sign a contract.

“The team I am most close to signing with hasn’t been mentioned by anyone. But if I were to go for the financial aspect of it, I should stay with Katusha," he told Biciciclismo.

"Others offers won’t be comparable. The team needs me now they aren’t in the WorldTour. But I am at an age now that I want to ride good races. This new contract will be a long-term one and probably the last one I sign.”

But Rodriguez has promised to await the final CAS verdict. So he won't just run away now.

"If I stay it’s for my teammates and the staff. I'm not just thinking of myself, I'll find a place in the WorldTour but my teammates might not. It will be very tough for them if I leave. What happens if Mr. Makarov decides to end the team? I feel at home with Katusha. So I’ll wait at least until the CAS verdict before deciding my future.”
Say something: