My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Zaugg and Tosatto re-sign contracts with Tinkoff-Saxo

Category: Cycling

Oliver Zaugg and Matteo Tosatto have extended their contracts with Tinkoff-Saxo. Both riders will stay with the Danish team for another two seasons.

Zaugg won the Il Lombardia in 2011. It is his biggest and only individual victory to date. Zaugg signed with Bjarne Riis' team in 2013, but his season was marred by injuries so he was happy to sign a new contract.

“Naturally, I'm happy about getting another season with one of the top teams in the world. I had my ups and downs in the 2013 season, so I hope for a 2014 season with fewer crashes, so I'll be able to support the team captains. Of course, I'm also ready to create a result of my own, when the right opportunity occurs,” he said.

Matteo Tosatto has been a pro rider since 1997. He will be 41 when his contract ends.

General manager Bjarne Riis said that:

"These two guys have both proved their importance to the team, especially in the Grand Tours, so I'm delighted to be able to keep them with us," general manager Bjarne Riis said.

"Matteo showed during this year's Tour de France how strong he still is. He can ride pretty much all races and has a great sense of how a race is developing. And last but not least he can be both a support for a GC captain, but also help bring a sprinter in position in the final kilometers of a race."
Say something: