My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Valverde targets the Vuelta (and maybe the Tour) in 2014

Category: Cycling

Alejandro ValverdeAlejandro Valverde did not win a lot in 2013, but he finished on the podium at Il Lombardia, the World Championships, the Amstel Gold Race, Clasíca San Sebastian and the Vuelta a España. He also finished third in this year's World Tour ranking.

The Movistar rider won two stages and the overall in the Ruta del Sol and the Trofeo Serra de Tramuntana in Mallorca, early in the season.

"I had a good year. It was very consistent and I finished on the podium in all the races I targeted. And I had options to win them all," the Spaniard told AS.com when reviewing his season.

"I feel better every year," Valverde said. "Every season I get older but I feel more mature and ride well."

In 2014, Valverde will target the Vuelta.

"If I don't have any problems I am going to ride the Vuelta. I like riding there and always do well," he said.

No decisions have been made about the Tour de France, so the French Grand Tour is still up in the air. His teammate Nairo Quintana has said that he may want to ride the Giro d'Italia instead of the Tour, but no final decision on who will lead Movistar in July has been made.

"During the last team meeting in Pamplona we talked about it again," Valverde said. "It's still up in the air but I am moving more towards the Tour than towards the Giro."
Say something: