My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Pellizotti set to stay with Androni

Category: Cycling

It seems like Franco Pellizotti may stay with the Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela team. But first the team's manager Gianni Savio must convince his sponsors to provide the extra funding needed to cover the Italian rider’s salary.

A formal announcement may be possible in the next few days.

Astana Team was earlier interested in signing the rider, but the team hit problems with the rules of the Mouvement pour un Cyclisme Crédible (MPCC). The team has agreed to follow its strict code of conduct, and one of the rules are that teams can not select riders for races for a further two years after a serious ban for doping. And Pellizotti was suspended for two years in 2010, following a biological passport violation while riding for the Liquigas team. This means that Pellizotti cannot race for Astana until May 2, 2014.

Pellizotti seems ready to take a salary cut.

Androni Giocattoli-Venezuela is a member of the MPCC since February, but at the time, Pellizotti had already joined the team.

Savio recently said that he will no longer sign former dopers. However, Pellizotti's contract may be extended because it will be an extension of the Italian's contract, rather than a new signing.

"I've gone back to my pool of sponsors and asked them if they're willing to make an extra effort to sign Franco. I'm still waiting for some replies but I expect to know in a few days time," Savio told Cyclingnews.

"I'd heard he had some problems and he called me but I'd spent on my planned budget and completed my roster with Johnny Hoogerland, Kenny Van Hummel and Marco Bandiera. However if I can gather the resources, I'd be happy to have Franco stay on with us for 2014."
Say something: