My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Lotto-Belisol announces Tour Down Under roster

Category: Cycling

German road champion André Greipel will ride the Tour Down Under as leader of Lotto-Belisol. Greipel has won 14 stages at the race, including three in 2013 edition of the event, and has taken the overall title twice.

"There's no question André Greipel and his fellow riders mean business when they come to race here," said Tour Down Under race director Mike Turtur.

"The explosive power of these cyclists is a force to be reckoned with, and we know how much fans enjoy watching the team storm home for a sprint finish."

Greipel often start his cycling season with Tour Down Under in Australia.

"In 2014 it will be my seventh attendance in a row. I won the criterium in the run-up to the stage race three times and I took 14 wins at the actual Tour Down Under," Greipel said.

"In 2008 and 2010 I won the GC as well, so I have good memories of it. The race has become a bit tougher each year, but I see three opportunities to sprint in this edition. The aim is a stage victory."

The team's rider Greg Henderson will miss the race for the first time since 2008 after undergoing knee surgery.

"It will be the first time that the sprint train will be put on the rails next season and that we can put it to the test," Greipel said.

Riding in summer temperatures as an alternative to training in the cold of the European winter will feel nice for many of the riders.

"We leave two weeks before the start, so we can train in the most optimal conditions. In Australia we are sure to have good weather," he said.

"It can be very hot, but I don't have any problems with the heat."

The Lotto Belisol team for the 2014 Santos Tour Down Under: André Greipel (GER, Adam Hansen (AUS, Jens Debusschere (BEL), Olivier Kaisen (BEL), Jurgen Roelandts (BEL), Marcel Sieberg (GER) and Stig Broeckx (BEL)
Say something: