My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Lampre-Merida announces Tour Down Under roster

Category: Cycling

The Italian WorldTour team Lampre-Merida will start its 2014 season at the Tour Down Under, and the goal is to return home with a handful of stage wins and a good placing in the overall classification. The team is built around the sprinter Roberto Ferrari, who will target the flat stages.

The Lampre team will also look for a high overall finish with Rafael Valls. The Spaniard will make his debut with Lampre after having spent the last two seasons with the now defunct Vacansoleil - DCM team.

Diego Ulissi will help Ferrari in the sprints. He is looking forward to his first appearance at the Santos Tour Down Under.

"I'm really excited to live the Australian experience. It will be my first time in the land down under. I travelled a lot during my career, but the Australian challenge gives me new spurs," said Ulissi. "Talking about my aims, it's necessary to consider that the Santos Tour Down Under comes very early in the season, so it won't so easy to go there to get a result."

Lampre-Merida squad for the 2014 Tour Down Under: Diego Ulissi (Italy), Matteo Bono (Italy), Davide Cimolai (Italy), Roberto Ferrari (Italy), Manuele Mori (Italy), Rafael Valls Ferri (Spain) and Luca Wackermann (Italy)
Say something: