My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Breyne attempts suicide

Category: Cycling & Doping

Jonathan Breyne (Crelan-Euphony) received news of a positive doping test for clenbuterol earlier this week. It made him sad.

He is not recovering from a suicide attempt. One day after receiving the news of his positive doping test, he swallowed large amounts of pills. He was quickly taken to a hospital in Gent on Thursday, where his stomach was pumped empty. He spent the night in the hospital, and was released on Friday, according to sudinfo.be.

Breyne rode the Tour of Hainan and the Tour of Taihu Lake in October and November, and won the eighth stage in Taihu Lake.

"I received the news by email," he told Sudinfo.be just one hour prior to his suicide attempt. "I have done nothing to deserve this but how do I prove this happened in China?"

The World Anti Doping Agency has warned athletes about the use of Clenbuterol in livestock in China. Following the 2010 Tour de France, another rider, Alberto Contador was told that he had traces of clenbuterol in his body.

"The doses found in my body were much bigger than in Contador's case, the UCI has told me," Breyne said.

"I don't feel well at all," he told Sudinfo.be. "I haven't eaten since. I don't understand why this happens to me. I feel really sick."

The whole world can fall apart when receiving bad news. Some people seem to think that this doping attempt was an admission of guilt, but I do not agree with that. Testing positive for something likely means that you will receive a suspension, and it is not easy for everyone to find a contract following a ban. It could ruin his career. And it becomes even worse if he has not even doped, but just been eating bad meat.

Fortunately, he did fail with his attempt, and hopefully everything will turn out well for him. Bad news can lead to good things.
Say something: