My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Allan Davis continues to look for a team

Category: Cycling

Australian Allan Davis has still not found a new contract following Orica-GreenEdge's decision not to renew his contract. Also Vuelta de España champion Chris Horner is waiting for a phone call with an offer. It is tough times.

Allan Davis has taken over thirty wins and podium places at the world championships and Milan-San Remo during his career. Lately, Davis has been providing invaluable experience to the younger riders on the team. Experience is important. And he wants to continue to share his experience for the next five years, or six.

Davis has been riding and training in his adopted home of Spain, and he has tried some new approaches to getting back into top shape.

"I've started running and did a half marathon after the season ended, I also got back in the gym. I've been back on the bike now for a month, doing a bit of track racing which has been good fun," Davis told Cyclingnews.

Davis hopes to get a place on the UniSA team for the Tour Down Under.

"I'm ready to go for Tour Down Under and hopefully the (Jayco Herald) Sun Tour as well depending on selection. I know I'd be competitive in winning stages and doing what I normally do," he said.

Davis says that he is really proud of what he has achieved so far in professional cycling. If he was forced into retirement, he would not feel much regret over what he achieved.

"The only regret that I'd have is that I wouldn't be stopping on my terms due to the situation of the sport at the moment. There are a lot guys in the same boat and I'm not bitter or have a grudge against anyone," he said.

One possibility is to return to an Australian team.

"I'd contemplate a NRS offer. I'd have to weigh it up obviously. I have a mortgage over here, a partner and baby. It's where I've lived since I was 17-years-old, I'd definitely consider it," he said.

"There are a few options I've contacted back home which would have been good. I think that there are, not only now, but in the future a lot of possibilities as well. I'd really love to share my experience, not only to Europeans but to Australians and it's something that I'd enjoy at this time of my career."
Say something: