My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Kreuziger wants to become real Grand Tour contender in 2011

Category: Cycling

Roman Kreuziger has joined Astana Team this season and he looks forward to race for the overall victory at the Giro d'Italia this year.

In the last two years, the Czech rider has finished in the top ten of the Tour de France. He has also won the Tour de Suisse and the Tour de Romandie.

His new goal is to win a real Grand Tour, and why not Giro d'Italia?

"I've come to a stage in my career where I feel I can take up responsibility. I will go to the Giro to win it," said Kreuziger at the team presentation in Monaco on Friday.

He has never raced the Giro d'Italia before, but he has been a professional with the Italian team Liquigas for five years and he lives in Italy, as well.

"It might be new to me, but I'm not scared," he commented. "I know the Italian mountains. I'm confident we can do very well, and I'm very motivated. I think for the first time trial we will be good, but once we get to the mountains we will be with the best," he added.

Changing team to Astana Team wasn't really a big thing for the rider. He left Liquigas, where he has already raced in the company of Ivan Basso and Vincenzo Nibali, to move forward.

This year, he will get the chance to race to win a Grand Tour. He has never fully had that role before.

"I looked at all the positives and negatives, and after five years in the same team I preferred to change, because I was missing a driving force. I needed new input to motivate myself again. With the experience of Vinokourov and Martinelli, I'm sure I can still grow a lot. From that point of view, Astana was the best option.

"There are a lot of people with a lot of experience in this team. Martinelli, and the sports directors, have achieved a lot in the past. I think they will be able to help me win a Grand Tour."

He learned a lot while racing for Liquigas, but there is things he can chance. Like the fact that many consider him as a passive rider.

"I was often told that I wait too much for the others to move in races, and Vino will teach me how to attack at the best moment, to become an actor in the races."

So far, he doesn't know if he will race the Tour de France or Vuelta a Espana later this season. It depends on the Giro and how he feels after the race. The Giro d'Italia will be very tough this season and Kreuziger himself says that it will probably be best to wait a little bit, but we will see. I am looking forward to see him as a Grand Tour contender, that's for sure.
Say something: