My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

It's crazy how I'm seeing you

Category: Cycling

Stage 1 of Tour de Romandie yesterday was won by Spaniard Richardo Serrano (Fuji-Servetto). He finished ahead of Lars Ytting Bak (Saxo Bank) and Gregory Rast (Astana) at a stage that had to be shortened because of snow in the mountains. It's always fun to see riders that you have not seen many times when they win stages. Richardo Serrano had a good day and it was his first victory in a ProTour race.
"This is the reward for my combative attitude as I've never been a rider to sit in and do nothing. Winning in a ProTour race gives me confidence, because it means I'm back at the top." He said.
He was a bit surprised over his victory though, but surprises are good. Plus it may raise his confidience in himself and making him a more successful rider.

"I'm truly delighted. If anyone had told me in the morning that I'd end up winning, I wouldn't have believed it," Serrano said.

"I have lost so many victories by rushing into the finish too early, so I tried to stay confident, even after my radio broke, and I was not able to hear my team manager Stefano Zanini's orders. I didn't know it, but I was following all the instructions he was telling me."

Gregory Rast finished third and also became the new leader in the race, which means Czech rider Frantisek Rabon could not keep it. The three-time Swiss road champion Gregory Rast said he would attempt to defend his lead.

"It will be difficult to keep it, but you never know. Two years ago I won the Tour of Luxembourg, which is a hard race as well. However, the mountains here are much harder plus there is the team time trial and the differences in the top of the GC are small."
It is one of his home races, and if he won the race it would surely be a significant victory for him, that he can remember for long time after having retired too.

Say something: