My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Could you walk and talk at the same time?

Category: Cycling

I felt very disappointed when I heard about the Operacion Puerto the first time, and I still feel upset every time people speak about it. I mean, not all cyclists are dopers and it hurts me when people says that all cyclists are dopers and nobody is clean. And remember that not all involved in the Operacion Puerto was cyclists either. It was soccer player, tennis player etcetera. So who knows? Who says that David Beckham, Rafael Nadal and other big stars have never doped themselves? My dream is a world without any doping, but that world doesn't exist, and I know it. I know that doping exist in every part of this world, drugs too. I have at some occasion told you that I believe doping is common in the world of ice hockey, especially NHL. But NHL have never had tests, but some days ago an ice hockey player was suspended because of doping use, so they are trying to fight for clean players. And I'm very glad that they are. 
   Doping has been a considerable issue, and people have been worried that their players have been doped, but as no tests were made then the trainers couldn't fire their players, but now they can, because they want people to believe in their sport and just as the cyclists want their fans to trust them and athletes of all kind. Athletes that dope, they may have another opinion, but who wants their favourite athlete to cheat? I don't like to see anyone doped, and certainly not the cyclists.

I'm so disappointed in Jan Ullrich since I know that he had blood bags at Puerto's office. How long has he been doped? I'm sure he wasn't doped before 2003, so I don't feel worried that he was cheating when I first saw him and had him as favourite at the Tour de France.
Have you ever seen a beauty as Ivan Basso? He looks really good, but the look doesn't mean a thing. What's inside his heart is much more important, and if he has doped then his heart must be made of stone, or? I pray that he's clean, I don't want him to be a doper, but rumours inside the peloton have said that he was a doper. I feel so dejected? What's the idea of winning if you're not clean? Do you feel better in any kind of way? I would feel so deficient, like I wasn't worth winning. It wouldn't matter if I would be hated for all time, but I would have to tell the media about it. I wouldn't be able to live with myself. Please, if you have ever doped, which I hope you haven't, talk about it. It will make you feel so much better? I don't know all of you, but stop smoking, stop being on the booze, stop doing things that you will regret tomorrow. Sometimes I do drink too much, but I never drink so much that I have a hang-over the next day.
No, I hope it takes sometimes before I hear any more doping news; we need to hear some positive news soon.

// Elin

Say something: