My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Basso to make Tinkoff-Saxo debut at Ruta del Sol

Category: Cycling

Today, Ivan Basso will make his Tinkoff-Saxo debut. He will ride the Vuelta a Andalucía Ruta Ciclista Del Sol in support of Alberto Contador.

"Since the moment I joined Tinkoff-Saxo, my ambition has been to reach the start of the season with all forces available to provide my best for the team," Basso said. "I'm very happy to kick off the season by the side of our extraordinary captain, Alberto Contador. I think we are at a very good level right now, as a group, and personally I feel very good."

Later this year, Basso will be at Contador's side during the Giro d'Italia and Tour de France so for sure, this is a good chance to see how the training they have done this off-season works out.

"I am convinced we have given our best this winter. We’ve given thorough attention to every detail and I think these efforts will pay off. I feel ready to take up the challenge and help Albert to reach the goal we have in Ruta del Sol, which is basically to win," Basso said.
Say something: