My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Evans won Fleche Wallone, is now looking forward to Liege

Category: Cycling

Liège-Bastogne-Liège is one of the most famous one day races around and if you want to see a fantastic race, then check it out tomorrow. Many of the most famous cyclists will be there. Andy and Frank Schleck, Cadel Evans, Christian Vande Velde, Alejandro Valverde, Philippe Gilbert, Damiano Cunego and Ryder Hesjedal, for example will be there.

Cadel Evans of BMC is a favourite to the victory and he hopes that this week's events (Flèche Wallonne and Liège-Bastogne-Liège) will create a good basis for a potential victory in the Giro d'Italia.

World champion Cadel Evans claimed Flèche Wallonne on Wednesday, ahead of Alberto Contador (Astana). BMC has been an embarrassment this year, the results have been lacking, and Evans' victory was the squad's first. In the future, they might take more victories, but there is reasons to wonder if this team should've been invited to big races, like the Giro d'Italia and the Tour de France. They have, after all, had fewer victories than many other Pro-Continental team. Now Cadel Evans, Alessandro Ballan (suspended), Karsten Kroon (injured) and George Hincapie belong to the team, but apparently it hasn't helped them so far.

The expectation that the team's cyclists (ie Cadel Evans) can make good results in the two races is the only reason they are invited. It is not a bad reason, but sad that the team isn't better than that. On paper it looked really good this year, but so far the squad has mostly had problems with doping rumours and doped riders.

“We know Cadel can do well in this type of race,” said Lelangue. “He showed in Amstel Gold Race that he was in good shape and then he won Flèche Wallonne."

"[After Flèche Wallonne] other teams will be looking at us more closely," continued Lelangue. "We're confident we can work well to bring Cadel to the finish in the best condition.”

BMC Racing Team roster for Liège-Bastogne-Liège: Brent Bookwalter, Cadel Evans, Mathias Frank, Jeff Louder, Steve Morabito, Jackson Stewart, Danilo Wyss and Simon Zahner. Wow, that was a pretty weak team.