My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Contador not the most popular guy in France today

Category: Cycling

Alberto ContadorThe Tour de France will begin this Saturday and today the 198 riders who will race were presented.

It seems like Alberto Contador (Saxo Bank-SunGard) wasn't the most popular rider among the cycling fans. He was booed loudly during the presentation, and I do understand them. I know he has the right of racing, as the Spanish cycling federation cleared him, but surely it feels bizarre that a rider who tested positive for Clenbuterol at last year’s Tour de France will race, especially a the Court of Arbitration for Sport will soon make its verdict, which means he could win the Tour de France and then lose it one week later.

More fun is that the Norwegian rider Edvald Boasson Hagen (Team Sky) will race the Tour. He has recovered from shingles.

Boasson Hagen won the national time trial, but then missed the road race championship due to the illness.

"I never really felt sick; I just had a bit of a rash on my back but that's gone now and I feel just as good as I did before,” Boasson Hagen said in a statement from Team Sky.

"The doctor said I had to take it easy for a little while and get a bit of rest in order to recover as quickly as possible. I'm happy it's all worked out and I can focus on the Tour de France."

In the Tour de France, the rider will help Bradley Wiggins to have success, but personally he doesn't have many big goals.

Comments:

  • Lännart i Värnamo says:
    2011-07-02 | 21:54:57

    Nio nollor och en femma. På de testerna skulle vi ha många dopade i världen idag. Koll på det finns redan, bland annat av EU. Wada har nog säkerligen lagt den kollen åt sidan ett tag efter alla uppgifter om hur många kossor som käkar det i världen. Koll på dem? Den var bra. Finns många kor.

    Wada sitter med problemet att en hel del redan fått två år och kan komma med ersättningsanspråk. Alberto har råd med advokater det hade inte de andra.

    Tack för en kul/bra sida!

Say something: