My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Vino wants to wear yellow jersey before retiring

Category: Cycling

Alexander Vinokourov is getting older, but he doesn't want to retire before wearing the yellow jersey at the Tour de France.

He has already lead the Giro d'Italia and Vuelta a Espana, but has never done the same in the Tour de France.

"I had a pink jersey and a golden one already in my career, so I still want a yellow one," Vinokourov said at Astana team's presentation in Monaco earlier this week.

He also said that the 2011 season might be his very last as a pro rider.

This year, he won't race the Giro d'Italia, but will concentrate on doing well in the Tour de France.

"This year, it will be even more special as there is no prologue. But there will be some small hills... We are already training for the team time trial. It will be hard to win looking at the competition, but I think a top five result is feasible. From there, we'll see. After the Tour and depending on the outcome, I will decide whether I continue my career or not."

The Kazakh will also target the Paris-Nice and the Ardennes Classics this year. The rider loves to attack and surely tougher races suit him. He knows how to suffer when he smells victory.

But he is no youngster anymore. And spending more time with the family starts to seem like a very good idea. So sadly this could be his last year.

"I don't want to commit to anything now," he said, according to Cyclingnews. "I still have results, I'm still very motivated. I could probably still race another three or four years just for the money, but that's not what I'm about. I want to win races. And I can't see myself still on the road at 40."
Say something: