My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Russ retires - Roels searching new team

Category: Cycling

I just heard that Team Milram's Matthias Russ will retire. And his team mate Dominik Roels hasn't found a new squad yet, it would surprise me though, if he doesn't find any. But unfortunately, there is a risk.

The team's stars, Gerald Ciolek, Fabian Wegmann, and Linus Gerdemann, was immediately watched by teams who were interested.

But a guy like Dominik Roels, who is attack willing but who doesn't win a lot and who rather spends time in breakaways than spending time in the peloton doing the hard work for the team leaders, may have problems finding a team today.

"I have a manager who has worked hard and written emails to potential employers, but nothing came of it. I have to go with the fact then that I will not race professionally next season," said Dominik Roels to German TV-station, West Deutsche Rundfunk.

Roels' has been a professional for three years, still his best career result was a third place in a stage of the Vuelta last season. That's not enough, and he may sadly find himself without a squad. But he knows he hasn't done well enough.

"It didn't progress right with me. I didn't achieve the expected performance gains."

But he will continue the search, something his teammate Matthias Russ is not going to do. Indeed he wasn't planning to continue.

There was many reasons why, but he suffered from asthma and most important he wasn't too happy about his non-improvements and doping.

"I felt that I was not progressing at the Giro, at least in the mountains, because I had surprised myself in the time trial," said Matthias Russ to RadsportNews.

And what about doping? Well, it wasn't just the doping cases but the return of former dopers. He didn't want to race with him, didn't want to see them. Especially not the guys who haven't even apologized for their behaviour.

"The doping cases disturbed me, especially the return of wrongdoers back into the pack as if nothing had happened. I don't want to spit in the soup though. The bike has earned me some very special moments that I'll never forget. I enjoyed myself."

Custom Cycling Jerseys
Custom Cycling Jerseys that Make a Statement
Say something: