My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

I love that gap in between your teeth

Category: Cycling

It is the second time that Suzanne de Goede has won the Women's Omloop Het Nieuwsblad, earlier Omloop Het Volk. In the end their was a group of 32 women and she won ahead of Noemi Cantele (Bigla Cycling Team) and Kelly Druyts (Topsport Vlaanderen Thompson Ladies Team). Suzanne de Goede rides for Equipe Nürnberger and comes from the Netherlands (not Germany as I was told in the beginning).

Italian Noemi Cantele finished second but she, of course, had a wish of winning and she did indeed try to get away for the win after the climb.
"I tried to attack with two other riders after the Molenberg but behind they chased us. The finish is hard so I decided to wait - I was the only one from my team in the break, so I couldn't do anything in the last 20 km."
But she could finish second anyway, so she didn't lose too much energy during the attack.

Now I am really tired and it's time to sleep. Sleep tight and see you tomorrow when the Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne is run. It will be an emotional race for some of the riders as Frederiek Nolf lived in Kuurne. They will stop in front of his house in honour for the rider who passed away during the Tour of Qatar. After paying their respects the riders will continue the race and it won't be an easy day for the cyclists, that's for sure. Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne is not an easy race.
Say something: