My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Renshaw close to taking Team Belkin's first victory

Category: Cycling

Mark Renshaw (Belkin) took his fourth podium of the year in the third stage of the Tour of Poland.

Norwegian champion Thor Hushovd (BMC) took stage win ahead of Renshaw, who led out the sprint in the final few hundred metres. Garmin Sharp's sprinter Steele Von Hoff was third.

"At 300 to 400 metres from the line, I was already in second position and had to start my sprint very early," Renshaw said. "Normally, I like it that way but with the head wind and Thor Hushovd behind me, I couldn't hold on."

"I've had some bad luck this year and with a stage win, I could've closed that chapter," Renshaw said.

Next season, it is believed that Renshaw will reunite with Mark Cavendish at Omega Pharma-QuickStep.
Say something: