My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Michael Rasmussen confesses to doping

Category: Cycling & Doping

And so today a new Rabobank rider confessed to doping. Michael Rasmussen confessed to 12 years of doping. I sat staring stupidly at the computer screen when I saw the article that he admitted to doping. It was no shock that he used doping substances, but I couldn't completely understand that he had indeed used doping for twelve years. It's crazy! It's almost his entire career.

The former Rabobank and CSC rider admitted that he doped from 1998 until 2010.

"I used EPO, growth hormone, testosterone, DHEA, insulin, IGF-1, and cortisone and did blood transfusions," Rasumssen said.

"I've informed the anti-doping authorities of what I specifically used, when and how. My agreement with them is confidential, which means I can't disclose further details at this time. That time may come later."

"When I stand up today, I will be a relieved man. I am glad that I no longer have to sit and lie to you today, as I have done for so many years. From today my cycling career is over. I want to cooperate with the Danish institutions. I know I cheated and I cheated other riders. I'll accept my punishment."

Rasmussen was one of the top favourites to win the 2007 Tour de France, but he was ejected from the race while wearing the mailot jaune, for lying about his whereabouts. Rasmussen said he used drugs during the 2007 race, in which he but passed all anti-doping test.

“The Doping Commission of the NOC of Denmark now opens a doping case against Rasmussen, and the case will be raised before the independent panel (the Doping Tribunal of the NOC) when all conditions are met. Within a few days, Michael Rasmussen will receive a temporary suspension,” a press release read.
Say something: