My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Guardini happy with new record of Langkawi victories

Category: Cycling

Andrea GuardiniAndrea Guardini (Astana) took his 12th stage victory at Tour de Langkawi on Stage 7 from Kuantan to Dungun. It was his first win of the year. Guardini has not won anything since taking home three stages at Tour of Qinghai Lake in July last year.

Guardini is the wearer of the blue points jersey, which he is happy about.

"I'm wearing the blue jersey but I like this," said Guardini. "It's so, so good," he added.

"My weight has come down by one kilo, my condition is so good. After the Giro d'Italia [in 2012] I have grown up, and have better total condition with my body.

"Now, I'm winning and this is the result because my condition is very good."

Andrea Guardin signed with Astana team at the end of 2012, and this is his first winfor his new team.

"This is my first victory here with the Astana team and it's a powerful team. It's so, so good. It's been so many months without winning which is not so simple for a sprinter - especially for me.

"I'm very, very happy to make the first victory of the year for this team," he added.
Say something: