My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Duggan announces retirement

Category: Cycling

American Timmy Duggan has decicded to retire. He has been waiting on a verbal deal with Cannondale to come through, but has now decided that he wish to retire.

Duggan had a tough 2013 campaign with Saxo-Tinkoff. He sustained a broken leg at the Santos Tour Down Under and never really recovered.

“In the ambulance to the hospital with my season-threatening injury, I began to question if this was worth it anymore. Despite plenty of support and being surrounded by incredible teammates and team staff at Saxo-Tinkoff, I hated nearly every day of the season, I was miserable and depressed. It is incredibly frustrating as an athlete to not be able to be at your best, and, even worse, I wasn’t sure if I really wanted it any more,” he wrote. “Cycling has given me a lot, but it has also taken a lot away. I wouldn’t trade my experiences, accomplishments, and relationships I’ve had in cycling for anything, but the injuries, the time away from home, and the sacrifice of so much to ride a bike faster are weighing heavy. At this point in my career, even when things are going very well, racing bikes is not making me truly happy. It doesn’t excite me like it used to. When I was thinking about the 2014 season, I couldn’t see myself being happy enough, regardless of the situation,” Duggan wrote.

In recent weeks, the 2012 U.S. road champion and Olympian, spent time with his family and friends.

“It has become clear how important some other things are to me and how much I’m missing,” he wrote.

He will now pursue a career in residential real estate, and he will also work with the Lake Eldora Racing Team.

“Ski racing is my original sport and one that is very close to my heart, and I’m excited to apply the knowledge and experiences I’ve had in reaching the top levels of cycling to the next generation of aspiring Olympians in ski racing,” he wrote.

“Cycling gave me goals and the opportunity to accomplish them, and the journey along that whole process has shaped me, and for that I am very proud. But cycling certainly doesn’t define me, and its not who I want to be anymore. Already I feel so incredibly alive as I move forward into my next ambitions.”
Say something: