My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Horner lost Vuelta leader's jersey

Category: Cycling

Chris HornerChris Horner (Radioshack) did not mind losing the leader's jersey today.

"For me personally, it's a good thing to lose the jersey - for the sponsor I think it's an absolutely terrible thing," Chris Horner said.

"[From here on] I will be able to concentrate on the GC, without all the leader's [ceremony protocol] stuff, maybe an hour to an hour and a half [of leader's obligations] after each stage," Horner told Cyclingnews.

"For me personally, it was all about leading for one day."

Horner was caught out by a late split in the peloton at the finish in Fisterra. Nibali finished in 16th spot in the front group of 21. Horner finished in 26th, with a six-second time gap.

"I got boxed in, there was a split very close to the line and I couldn't move out on either side," Horner said. "It wasn't a hard effort in terms of the finish, but we slowed down and I got boxed in so badly there wasn't anywhere for me to go.

"We used up the teammates that usually I have around me 100 percent beforehand, I was left to work on my own and I got boxed. By the time I got unboxed, the gap was there.

"I got trapped on one side, I could see the acceleration going on the other. It wasn't bad luck, you know it's going to happen, there's nothing you can do and if you get caught out....that was the way the race went."
Say something: