My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Ferrari signs with Lampre-ISD

Category: Cycling

Roberto Ferrari from Androni-Venezuela has signed a contract with Lampre-ISD for the 2013 season.

Ferrari has spent two seasons in Androni an won stage 11 at this year’s Giro d’Italia.

“I’m really very happy, I couldn’t find a better evolution for my career,” Ferrari said. “In recent years, I’ve drawn a lot of satisfaction from the qualities as a sprinter. Now I want to take on a new experience. Beyond that, it will be fascinating to ride on the same team as Petacchi, a rider of absolute class. With the sporting directors, we’ll decide on what race programme is best suited to me.”

Ferrari has also won the Memorial Pantani (2009) and the Giro del Friuli (2010).

Lampre-ISD has also signed Filippo Pozzato from Farnese Vini-Selle Italia and the team wants to retain its WorldTour status for 2013.

“Awaiting the UCI’s confirmation of our WorldTour status, we’re pleased to be able to offer Roberto the chance to test himself at that level,” team manager Giuseppe Saronni said. “Given his results in recent years and the quality he has shown on the road, I think that Ferrari is ready for this new challenge. His presence in the team alongside Petacchi will give us a very competitive sprint department.”
Say something: