My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Coppel aims for top 10 in Tour de France

Category: Cycling

Jérôme Coppel (Saur-Sojasun) is preparing for the Tour de France. Coppel is a good time triallist, not the best, but not the worst either, and the rider is strong in the mountains as well. This year's Tour could really be a good one for him and maybe this is what the Frenchman needs to develop into a stage race contender.

“I’m a long way from his level, but seeing [Bradley] Wiggins finish fourth in the Tour [in 2009] reassured me with the idea that it was possible to be a good rouleur and a good climber,” Coppel told L’Équipe.

A year ago, the Frenchman finished 13th overall at the Tour, and this year, there will be significantly more time trialling on the route and Coppel aspires to a place in the top ten.

“When there’s hard attacking, I get a bit asphyxiated,” Coppel said. “At the Galibier and Alpe d’Huez last year, I blew straight away, but afterwards, when I got into a rhythm, I made up the ground on a lot of people. I climb like a rouleur, but if I manage myself well at the foot of the climb, I’m capable of following the leaders for a long time.”

The year has started well, with overall victory at Étoile de Bessèges and third place at the Ruta del Sol, and last week, he too second place at Bayern-Rundfahrt.
Say something: