My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Cummings back after Algarve crash

Category: Cycling

Steve CummingsBMC rider Steven Cummings will return to competition on Monday's Paris Vasco. The British rider crashed at stage three of the Volta ao Algarve on February 17 and broke his pelvis.

Earlier years, the Volta ao Algarve has been a good race for Cummings. In 2011, Cummings led the race until the final time trial, and in the end, he finished in seventh place overall.

This year, he didn't have the same luck. He collided with another rider who was suffering from mechanical problems. Now Cummings is ready to return to the road at Pais Vasco, or the Tour of the Basque Country. And hopefully it won't be too painful.

"I think I'm at a level now where I can survive the race and do work for the team," Cummings said. "I was off the bike for three weeks and then the first week or so was very painful because the fracture was where I sat on the saddle."
Say something: