My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Boonen confident with sprint weapon in De Ronde

Category: Cycling

Tom BoonenThings haven't looked good form Tom Boonen in the last two years, but suddenly ahead of this year's season he seems to have re-found his sprint and his spirit. Tomorrow, the Belgian has the chance of wining the Tour of Flanders.

Having already won the E3 Prijs-Harelbeke and Gent-Wevelgem, Boonen is seen as a favourite to take a third Tour of Flanders title.

"You have to forget everything you've won before and try to race the best way you can," Boonen said. "It doesn't really matter how many races you have already won as it all depends on Sunday. We've got a good team which is ready to ride a good Ronde van Vlaanderen."

It's been six years since Boonen's last success in De Ronde. And it's really a race that he would like to win again.

"It's one of the two most important races of the season. I would really like to win," he said. "If you talk to the foreign guys they find it hard to understand why there’s that much attention, so much media coverage about one single race. It’s something that has been growing for the last hundred years. Every year it's a nice race."

De Ronde is not an easy race to win. The course of this year' race is quite difficult with three challenging circuits ending in Oudenaarde and it will change the tactics for the riders.

"It can be a different style of racing every year on this course. If you have a strong guy or a strong team they will start racing pretty soon in the finale but it's also possible the good guys will be looking at each other in the finale and not much will change. It can happen on many spots, just like on the old course. It's a race where you have to be able to adapt and don't make too many plans in advance. Of course I know where the toughest spots are but that doesn't mean it'll happen there."

Radioshack-Nissan's Fabian Cancellara is also a rider that everyone is watching. It is quite hard to win the Tour of Flanders as a top favorite.

"It doesn't really matter to me who's the favorite. [Cancellara] is a strong rider but I've never raced to beat someone specific except myself. Of course if he attacks in the finale and I see it's the decisive attack then I'll react but I'll certainly not mark every move he makes all day long."

Boonen has an advantage that Cancellara does not have. Boonen is a stronger sprinter.

"He has to drop me because I've got the sprint as my weapon.

"Maybe he's got a slightly bigger engine but I'm a little bit faster. We're two different riders with the same objectives. If you look at it in a physical way then we're a level above the rest. with a really hard finale then we're the two riders who can decide the race although that doesn't want to say one of us will win. We've got the key to the race in our hands."

"Everybody has been talking about me and Fabian. It's not true that we're the only guys who're able to win. To me Sylvain [Chavanel] is one of the favorites for the win because I've seen the course and know that a strong rider will win here, just like before. If Chavanel goes and Cancellara doesn't react? Then Sylvain is very lucky. We're good friends and it's no problem to me if someone else of the team wins on Sunday.

"[Peter] Sagan? He can get pretty far maybe even this year. Sagan is going to be on the podium in the next three to four years. Edvald Boasson Hagen? If he's there in the sprint you have to pay attention to him but I don't count him in as one of the big favorites."
Say something: