My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Van den Broeck less nervous of Tour start

Category: Cycling

Jurgen Van den BroeckBelgian rider Jurgen Van den Broeck from the Lotto-Belisol team entered the Tour de France with the ambition of being in the mix for the podium in Paris.

"I'm not as nervous as last year. I learned from that crash that it can soon be over. I did the maximum, I couldn't do more. I lived for it and trained for it so I know that I'm ready. If it doesn't work out then I can't blame myself, if it does work out then that's fantastic.

What's 'it'? A nice goal, a nice result. The podium?

"I don't have to hide that this would be the best outcome, if not then that's a stage win. From third to tenth place anything is possible and even the first two are not certain because also they can have a bad day," Van den Broeck said.

Back in 2010, Jurgen Van den Broeck finished fifth, and later moved up to fourth after the positive clenbuterol test from winner Alberto Contador. Then last year, he believed he would have a chance to climb up the podium but a massive crash in the descent of the Col de Pas de Peyrol during stage 10 to Saint-Flour made him abandon the race.

This year he hopes that his improvement on the time trial bike, plus his climbing skills, can take him to the top 3.

"The difference can be made anywhere. During the first week there're the stages where the wind is dangerous. You can't win but you can lose. Then there're the tough stages in the Vosges or the Jura. Then there's the time trial and then there's already the Alps. Really, it can happen everywhere and if you have the chance you have to take time because Evans and Wiggins are the better riders in the time trial. So you have to try and take advantage of that in the mountains. The first time trial will show where everybody is but then there're still the Alps and the Pyrenees to come so it will not be decided by then," Van den Broeck said.

At today's prologue, the Belgian finished 77th, 28 seconds behind stage winner Fabian Cancellara.
Say something: