My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Vansummeren fractured vertebra in Tour crash

Category: Cycling

Johan VansummerenJohan Vansummeren completed the Tour de France, but later it has been revealed that he suffered from a cracked vertebra while doing so.

Many of the Garmin-Sharp team riders crashed on the stage to Metz on July 6. Ryder Hesjedal, Christian Vande Velde and Daniel Martin eventually finished more than 13 minutes after stage winner Peter Sagan (Liquigas-Cannondale), and Vansummeren finished a further three minutes behind.

Vansummeren was taken to hospital for an injured shoulder, but show that the rider has suffered worse than the team thought. The vertebra was broken.

"I have to maintain condition and I've also finished the Tour despite the injury," Vansummeren told nieuwsblad.be.

"A little longer gritting my teeth will not hurt. The next thing on my agenda is the Vuelta a Espana. Bit by bit I must now recover from my injury and hope to be there when the Vuelta begins with the team time trial in Pamplona on 18 August."
Say something: