My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

No racing until at least May for Roelandts

Category: Cycling

Jürgen Roelandts

Jürgen Roelandts (Lotto-Belisol) is back on the rollers and hopes to get back on the bike later this week. However, he won't be racing again until May at the earliest.

Roelandts suffered a broken vertebra and bruised arteries in a crash at the Tour Down Under last month. He seemed to recover well, but was recently taken to hospital with a blood clot which affected the flow of blood to his brain. Now, he takes blood thinners to counteract the problem.

“It's gradually getting better,” he told Het Nieuwsblad. “Since this weekend, I have been training on the rollers, twice a day for half an hour. I don't do it every day, but I do try to stay active. In addition I go to the physiotherapist for my shoulder.”

As a result of the blood clot, he suffers some concentration problems but that will disappear soon.

“That's not serious, but if I make a sudden movement, I realize I am still not myself.”

This week, he hopes to be back on the road again, but will be a little careful the first time. If something happens he wants to have somebody near him.

“I may not train on my own. I will do so in the company of others. I look forward to returning to cycling.”

But then he has to wait until May, maybe longer, before he can start to race.

“I must go under the scanner again in early May. Until then I will certainly not race. I will be happy if I get the green light.”
Say something: