My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

A calm evening after a nervy race

Category: Cycling

PodiumAfter the race we once more ran through the forest, that had previously been semi-impossible to get through. But now paths had emerged. That's what happens when thousands of people passes through every day for a weekend. It does not take very many days before a forest chance appearance and looks totally different if people start walking there.

Even though we ran, the prize ceremony area were totally crowded when we came there and I decided to stand quite far away, while my partner took a closer look at the ceremony. I am a bit shy, don't really want to disturb other people.

Previously it had been announced that Fabian Cancellara would win the bronze medal, but now they had changed their mind and appointed the great sprinter Andre Greipel (Germany) as bronze medalist. I almost felt happier when I heard this. I think that Greipel has received too little attention earlier. He seems down to earth and friendly, so I do not really understand why people have said so many bad things about him. Maybe he is a little too cocky sometimes, but who isn't? With his sprint ability, he deserves to tease others once in a while.

In the evening we took the train to Copenhagen's city center and ate at a restaurant before heading back to the hostel. This evening we were feeble, and besides, it was unusually quiet and peaceful there, so we soon fell asleep.

I saw Ivan Stevic (Serbia) talking to his physiotherapist (or something similar) before that. Otherwise I'd have asked him how he was, after all, he had been forced to abandon the race earlier in the day after a crash. He could have continued if he only would have a bike nearby, but that's the disadvantage of belonging to a small team.
Say something: