My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Garzelli continues to race until, at least, 2012

Category: Cycling

Stefano GarzelliIt's been eleven years since Stefano Garzelli won the Giro d'Italia in 2000. This year, he won the the green climber's jersey for a second consecutive year.

He says he will continue to race with the Acqua & Sapone team through 2012.

"My motto is that if a thing's worth doing, it's worth doing well. I think I did everything right to peak for the Giro d'Italia and I intend to do the same thing all over again next year. I've got a contract with Acqua & Sapone and I'm happy to be with them and help young riders like Carlos Betancourt, who finished fourth in Sestriere," said the soon 38-year-old Italian.

Garzelli did well at the long stage from Conegliano to Gardeccia, a stage that included five major climbs and he took many climber's points during the race.

In the end, Garzelli finished with the climber's points race with a total of 67 points. Alberto Contador (Saxo Bank-SunGard) finished second with 58 and Jose Rujano (Androni Giocattoli) third with 43 points.

"It's hugely satisfying to win the green jersey. I knew I couldn't compete for the maglia rosa this year, the course was just too tough for me, so I targeted stage victories and the mountains classification," Garzelli said.

"I didn't win a stage but I went close on the day to Gardeccia, when I was on the attack all day and then finished second. I was gutted not to win but I was proud of how I rode on such a big mountain stage. I actually think the maglia verde is more prestigious than a stage victory because it puts my name in the history books of the Giro yet again. And having won it in this very hard Giro is even more satisfying."
Say something: