My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Basso not satisfied with March results

Category: Cycling

Ivan BassoIvan Basso (Liquigas-Cannondale) isn't happy about his results in March. He just didn't do well enough at Tirreno-Adriatico, nor the Volta a Catalunya.

In February, the Italian rider won GP Lugano, but this month just hasn't been as good.

"I'm the first one not to be satisfied with what I gathered in March and in such cases it's right to recognise that," Basso said. "My objectives were, and are, to ride the spring at a high level."

However, what some athletes think is bad results, might be the best result another rider will ever have. Basso may not be satisfied, because he had wished for victory, but having finished 7th on the queen mountain stage to Andorra in the Volta a Catalunya, and finished in the same position overall, just isn't bad at all. Nor should he be sad about his 4th place finish at Tirreno-Adriatico.

But emotions are sometimes difficult to understand. Sometimes we know that one's way to feel is wrong, but how can you prevent it? It seems like an impossible task.

Basso found something to be happy about though. His form is better than it was this time last year.

"My athletic performance was positive, better than it was in the spring of 2010," Basso said. "For this reason the fact that I didn't win doesn't worry me: the condition is there. Now I will tackle the April races, with routes that on paper are more demanding and more suited to my characteristics, so I'm convinced I can do well."
Say something: