My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Cobo signs two-year deal with Movistar

Category: Cycling

Having no computer is really annoying. I had so many ideas of messages I would like to write, but have no chance. However, I will have a pink Sony Vaio VPCCA3S1E in my hands in one or two weeks time. It feels good, but I hate to wait.

But now, time to write something about pro cycling and about Geox-TMC's Juan José Cobo.

As you know, the Geox-TMC will fold, which means the team's riders must find new teams and the Spanish rider Juan Jose Cobo has signed a contract with Movistar Team for the 2012 and 2013 seasons. Cobo raced with Caisse d'Epargne in 2010; a team directed by Eusebio Unzué. Next year, Cobo and Eusebio Unzué will be linked up again, as Unzué is the manager of Movistar.

In 2010, Cobo has problems to perform in races as he suffered from depression, but now he is eager to make up for lost time.

"I am very pleased as Movistar Team is one of the best teams in the world and will give me the opportunity to be in the biggest races on the calendar," Cobo said. "In 2010 I ran to Unzué's orders and things did not go well. I think we were both left disappointed by that and I'm sure everything will be better. I am excited and eager to be ready with my new teammates."

This year, Cobo had his big as he won the Vuelta a Espana. He won the race by a margin of 13 seconds from Chris Froome. Earlier, the Spaniard won stage 10 at the 2008 Tour de France.
Say something: