My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Phinney happy with Vuelta so far, expects himself to race the Worlds

Category: Cycling

Taylor PhinneyTaylor Phinney (BMC) is racing his first ever Grand Tour, and at today's rest day he said that he aims to complete the Vuelta a España and to be in great form at the Worlds in September.

The neo-pro had a difficult start to his year but he can't complain about the second half of the season. Yesterday, he finished fifth place in the individual time trial.

“I’m really happy with how the time trial went. I wasn’t really sure on what to expect because this is the longest race I’ve done. I did eight days at the Tour of Austria and now I’m passed that. So to be up there and competitive after ten days of racing and in my first grand tour, I’m really happy. And I’m also really happy for Chris Froome for his ride. He’s a friend of mine and a great guy who I’ve been lucky enough to get to know this year,” Phinney told Cyclingnews.

There won't be anymore time trials in the Spanish Grand Tour now, and he is now focusing on finish the race.

Next month, he wishes to race in the US team for the time trial at the world championships in Copenhagen, Denmark. American national time trial champion David Zabriskie is expected to race, as well.

“For me this experience has been a good adventure and something positive for the future. I think that the ride in the time trial should help me qualify for the Worlds time time trial in Copenhagen and as everyone knows, representing my country is a huge honor for me. I think I’ve put in a deserving ride to get a spot now. There are two spots so I would imagine that Dave Zabriskie would take one and I would take the other.”

“For now though, if I can finish the Vuelta I’d be really happy so that’s the main goal. I’m thinking about getting into a break later in the race but I’m also looking forward to resting up today.”
Say something: