My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Should we trust Ivan Basso today?

Category: Cycling

It is four years since last time. But now it has happened again. Ivan Basso is the winner of the Giro d'Italia. He also won the race in 2006, but was implicated in the Operacion Puerto blood doping investigation and became suspended. Today Ivan Basso (Liquigas-Doimo) was crowned the winner of the year's race and I am still not sure what to think. Can I trust him today?

When I think of it, I believe that Ivan Basso has changed. He seems to have more respect and faith for himself. In addition, he looked happier when standing at the podium. The mouth and eyes tell a lot about people. And he said that he liked this victory better than the one in 2006.

"I think this Giro win is the best one because I fought for the pink jersey right to the end," Basso said.

"I crashed on the stage to Montalcino and then there was the disaster of the stage to L'Aquila, when I lost time. I honestly thought I might not win. Arroyo was very strong and rides for a strong team. It caused us a lot of problems but we fought back with pride and did everything right to win. I have to thank my teammates yet again. Especially Nibali who finished with me on the podium. He'll win the Giro one day."

This summer he will also ride the Tour de France, but this year he is not aiming for a double victory. He has probably realized that it would be too stupid. Last time he tried it he used dope (or at least wished to dope). Foolishly!
Say something: