My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Haussler's surgery was successful

Category: Cycling

Again Heinrich Haussler has undergone a successful surgery on his knee in Basel, Switzerland. The year 2010 has really sucked for him. It hasn't been a good year, as he has suffered multiple injuries and diseases, plus he recently got caught - drink-driving.

"Heinrich feels well after the successful surgery yesterday," said Andreas Goesele, Cervélo TestTeam's chief medical officer. "It was a necessary operation, and Heinrich is now focused on full recovery."

He crashed in the Volta a Algarve this spring and his knee hasn't healed properly. Despite resting the injury continued to disturb him. Especially as he continued to crash and injure himself during other races. He has been luckless this season. In the end a surgery was necessary. 

"I am happy that I had this surgery," said Haussler. "I will now start my rehabilitation process and take my time to get fully recovered. I'm sure it will be hard for me to watch the Tour de France on TV now, as it was one of my main goals this season.

"As I have already stressed, my health is the first priority and I would like to come back to cycling healthy and in good shape. When that comeback will be, I do not know yet, it depends on my recovery process. But now I wish my colleagues from Cervélo TestTeam all the best for the Tour de France 2010!"

Custom Cycling Jerseys
Custom Cycling Jerseys that Make a Statement
Say something: