My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Life is never easy

Category: Life

Sorry if I was late with today's post. But I haven't had the time. Sorry, too, that the post is a bit harebrained. But something bizarre happened today. Something that I, thankfully, have never been through before.

We had rented a trailer to move our stuff to the new apartment. We had just driven some few kilometer when the car suddenly began to move strangely. It didn't listen to my partner's commands. Instead, we had a sideslip and ran into the cable barrier.

Thank goodness we are not injured, nor the car. The glass on the front lights broke. We got some dents on the car. The trailer showed no significant damage to itself, just some dents as well.

For me, the shock was hard to deal with at the beginning. I had to write a lot in order not to start screaming. I was really frighten. I didn't want to sit in that car. I was terrified of it.

I have never taken a driving license because I think cars are too big for my own ability. The accident today did not help to reduce the thought. Had we drove a bit faster, I had perhaps been in the hospital today. But now, we were able to continue driving. Although we reduced the speed a lot during the rest of the trip.

Thanks to all those who helped us. The woman who phoned the emergency and asked me how I felt. And the truck driver who helped us to drive on.

And thanks to my mom and stepfather who came and helped us. Probably the brake on the trailer didn't work properly, which led to the accident. When parents looked at the car, they realized that the tow bar was also completely broken. Oops! We hadn't noticed. But in the end everything is fine. We are alive, no injuries and we needed a new car anyway.

See you tomorrow, when I am, hopefully in my new apartment. An apartment where we will only live for one month though.

Love/ Elin Lännholm
Say something: