My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Will Cancellara leave Saxo Bank?

Category: Cycling

Fabian Cancellara may leave Team Saxo Bank. Is anybody surprised?

The Swiss rider has a contract with the Danish team for 2011. But he has started to think more and more about finding something else.

“I often think about next season as well. It is an open secret that other teams are interested in me,” he wrote at his webpage.

“I have to say, some interesting suggestions have been made, which would also offer me long-term opportunities for the future, i.e. beyond cycling.”

One of the team's may be BMC Racing, at least that's what rumours say. But he could of course stay with Saxo Bank.

“As I am openly communicating with Bjarne Riis, we have of course discussed this situation. I am delighted that Bjarne will come to the Vuelta and that we will be able to talk about our pending tasks.” Cancellara said. “So I hope that I will know more about my fitness levels and where I'll be riding next year after the Tour of Spain.”

Many of his team mates, Andy and Fränk Schleck, Jens Voigt, Matti Breschel, Jakob Fuglsang and Anders Lund, have already announced that they are leaving. Fabian Cancellara may switch team as well.

It's not uncommon that cyclists decide to switch teams after a few years, but this year Saxo Bank will lose some of their most important cyclists. Maybe because they had trouble finding a new sponsor. What do you think?
Say something: