My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Laurent Fignon lost fight against cancer

Category: Cycling

Laurent Fignon passed away. The cancer took over his body and he didn't survive the disease. He was 50 years old.

In June 2009, Fignon told that he was undergoing treatment for cancer. This summer, he commentate for French television on the Tour de France, but some people noted that he spoke a little strange. The tumour made it hard to speak and to live. But he still hoped to stay alive and get his voice back.

He didn't want to die. He wished to overcome the disease, but he knew it would be difficult.

“I don’t want to die at 50,” he said this summer. “All I know is that my cancer isn’t evolving. I’m still fighting.”

Laurent Fignon won the Tour de France in 1983 and 1984.

Custom Cycling Jerseys
Custom Cycling Jerseys that Make a Statement
Say something: