My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Uzbekistan needs a stronger cycling squad

Category: Cycling

One day left before my trip to New York. I’ll be there for three weeks and that means I will really have the chance to check out the city. Surely I will do so much more than just the touristic things, indeed I don’t plan to see all the touristic stuffs but just hang around with the New Yorkers. It would of course be a big dream to actually get a job in the US, and live there for a year or two, but it’s really difficult to get a green card. It’s so much easier if you’re an athlete or have a nice education, which no one else has. Unfortunately I don’t belong to that group, nor am I married to an American. But nothing is ever impossible.

Tour de Korea started yesterday and Sergey Lagutin was obviously not there. Vadim Shaekhov started the race fairly well. He finished in 19th place, with the chasing group. Ying Hon Yeung (HKg) won the stage by a solo attack. It's really a shame that Vadim doesn't have a stronger team around him. He is a good cyclist, but would need more help. More experience.

I fancy Uzbekistan and the country's cyclists. When I visited Uzekistan I saw many of them when I walked around in Tashkent. I confess that I have special feelings to them and want them all the best.

It is difficult for the Uzbek cyclists to race for an amateur team in Europe. It's not impossible though and Vadim Shaekhov has raced in Europe, but they don't come further. Sergey Lagutin won everything that he could possile win as a U23-cyclist, but Vadim was almost too old when he traveled to Europe. Lagutin got contract offers as an amateur rider, (he won the U23-world championships in 2003), so surely teams were interested.

Several Uzbek cyclists got a chance to compete in Europe during the early years, but now it has slowed down. I don't believe Shaekhov will have a chance to race as a professional. Still it would be a dream to see him race in Europe or why not North America for a year.

I have to go and do a few things, but I'll write more later. Love/ Elin
Say something: