My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

And even, the things I don't like about him are fine with me

Category: Cycling

Today's most important race was the semi-classic Omloop Het Nieuwsblad. Thor Hushovd took the victory with Kevyn Ista of Agritubel and Juan Antonio Flecha (Rabobank) surrounding him at the podium. They caught two escapees, Sebastian Langeveld (Rabobank) and Heinrich Haussler (Cervélo), with only a few hundred metres to go, so it became a sprint victory. Haussler is Thor Hushovd's team mate and the victory surprised Hushovd.
"This is unexpected, I thought Haussler would have it," he said. "I thought he and Langeveld had all the chances to sprint for victory." But they were caught. "In the end, all I had to do was sprint."

Langeveld who had been in a break-away for long time was part of an accident in the end as he wished to get out of the way. He moved to the left side of the road, and accidently blocking Filippo Pozzato (Katusha), who was at full speed, contesting for victory. Pozzato went down and blocked Tom Boonen. Boonen almost went down but was lucky enough not.
"On the other hand, I felt really strong and I could have been on the podium. I was in Hushovd's wheel when the crash happened. I lost 30 metres and I had to re-start my sprint."
Also Tomas Vaitkus and Gerald Ciolek went down. Vaitkus hurted his small finger on his left hand as it was pretty bloody. Alexandre Blain (Cofidis) also went down.

"I crashed on the Paddestraat. I was comfortably riding in the middle of the road when another rider was trying to get back into the middle and cut in front of me."


Neo-pro Guillaume Blot had an interesting day and I think it was a pretty good start of his career, to suffer.
"I had to change my bike three times," he said. "I still don't have the physique for those races and I simply hit the wall. I will be going to bed a bit disappointed tonight."
He was in a breakaway during the beginning of the race together with David Boucher (Landbouwkrediet), Hervé Duclos-Lassalle (Cofidis), Jean Zen (Palmans) and Wim De Vocht (Vacansoleil). Four other riders Steven Caethoven (Agritubel), Maarten Tjallingii (Rabobank), Aleksandr Kuschynski (Liquigas) and Björn Thurau (Elk Haus) tried to catch the front group but they ended up getting disqualified as the four went through a closed railroad crossing. You may remember when the same thing happened at the Paris-Roubaix a couple of years ago, that was a mess and it's always sad when people get disqualified.
"The lights had just started blinking. There was a bit of a dip beforehand and we were going 60 km/h. If you want to crash, yeah, then maybe you could stop." Björn Thurau said.

In the end Hushovd became the winner and that's great. I like him, and not only because I'm Swedish.

Say something: