My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

I've got all my love to give

Category: Cycling

What can I tell you? It has been a boring day when I have written the first six answers of 20 questions in a test about Central Asia's older history. Surely I could have done many more, but I need stress to get ready with tests, I just think it's boring to make them when I have too much time. And nothing seems to have had happened in the world of cycling either. Hayden Roulston has signed with Cervélo TestTeam. Two years ago he announced his retirement after health concerns but now he will return to competition again. At the Beijing Olympics he took silver in the individual pursuit and a bronze medal in the team pursuit, so at least he has not been completely out of racing.

Roulston was New Zealand's brightest prospect in 2003, and that made him secure a contract with Cofidis before signing with Discovery Channel in 2005. The next year he would race for HealthNet as Discover Channel choosed not to sign him again following an assault case after a late-night incident at a bar. But when a medical examination revealed irregular heart activity he advised to stop riding immediately. He was diagnosed with arrhythmogenic right ventricular dysplasia, a condition which left him short of breath, pushed his heart rate to dangerous levels, and put him at risk of dying every time he got on his bike. Still he managed to become the New Zealand national road race champion that year. And he also won Tour of Southland and Tour of Wellington titles in 2006 & 2007, so he has never really stopped racing. Earlier this year he also won the UCI's Oceania Tour title.

So now he is back in the professional road racing, and I believe he has medication for his disease nowadays. it will be fun to see him again 'cause it has really been long time.

Say something: