My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Yesterday I cat thought I was his mother

Category: Life

I am back. I have found this cheap internet café close to the hotel, so I think I can afford to sit down sometimes. And today has been quite calm, after all, so I can write something.


Air Baltic is a cheap airline, but they are not easy to handle with. One of my class mates lost a bag with them and it took them so long to take it to her. But my problem is a bit different. They have changed my dates so many times now and all by a sudden they tell me that I have to send my ticket back to Sweden for changing the dates. But come on, I am in Uzbekistan and I wouldn't do such thing if I wished to have my tickets back. So I thought I would go and talk to them in Tashkent. I searched for their adress at the internet and thought that well, this can't be so difficult, can it? So I looked at the map and found the adress behind the airport. Though I later found out that was not the right street. I had not gone their thankfully. But instead I went to an Aviakassa, where you can buy airplane tickets and they made a phone call to Air Baltic's office in Tashkent and they had relocated. Thankfully to the inner city. So I walked there and they changed the dates. I would not recommend you to do the same, unless you have to. It felt like I was just running around in the beginning of the day. A lot of stress for that little ticket. But now my only worry is that I probably have to call the company to tell them that I will travel with them.


Otherwise the day has been very relaxed, and I have just done nothing very serious. I walked around, sat in a parc. Back at the hostel I sat down, drank Sprite, ate cookies and wrote my diary. And now I am here. It's fun to meet all the travellers and it is interesting to see how everybody is telling me that they will soon go back to their home countries. When I arrived everybody would stay here a long time, but it seems the tourist season is about to end. I think of all people staying at the hotel right now, maybe 15 people, only one is starting his trip. The rest of us is about to go home. And I must say it feels sad, but quite good. It is so hot here, so I would prefer a couple of cloudy days as I come back to Sweden. Plus I will like eating Swedish food again. Or at least to be able to make my own food. But yeah, I like this city even though the distances are unbearable sometimes. It would be nice to have a bike, or maybe I should just take the metro more often. Especially when I am tired.

I think I have said so before, but Tashkent is the only city where I can actually think of spending the rest of my life. But I will probablt choose another city in the end. Too scary to live in Uzbekistan, huh?


See you soon.
Elin

Say something: