My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

Talk to me

Category: Cycling

I do believe I found a new cyclist today. Or no, he has raced for many years and he is quite famous in track cycling, but has not yet won a lot in road racing. His name is Vasil Kiryienka and he won the gold medal in Points race at the World Championships in Manchester. He seems to enjoy the track; after all he won the point?s race in Manchester in 2005.

Okay, to be honest, he wasn't very special. He came from Belorussia and had long hair, but no, I don't think I would have cared that much if he came from let's say Colombia. Still he had some idea about himself as the winner of the race, and it made me realise that it would mean a lot to him if he won, which he also did. But it was quite difficult for the rider as he, of course, was tired after many laps, but in the last couple of kilometres the French rider Christophe Riblon tried to win the race by gaining an entire lap on the peloton. He was extremely close but his legs very stunned in the end, and he failed.

So instead Vasil Kiryienka won the race by one single point, which means he kept the lead from the first sprint to the last. It was fun to see that he never gave up and that he succeed winning.

But I think I can assure you that Kiryienka won't be a new favourite cyclist. He had too little joy in his eyes. I may take a glance at him sometimes though and see how he is doing.

Comments:

  • Fredrik Axwik says:
    2008-04-02 | 11:30:49
    Webpage: http://ministryofart.se

    Hej du... Du raderade just ett inlägg jag gjorde på Wiki eftersom det som fanns där (om mig) är totalt fel... Kan du vara snäll att återkomma och förklara/hjälpa till istället för att sabba...

    /F

Say something: