My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

That sounds so cute and sweet

Category: Cycling

You know what? Chris Hoy has really been awarded knighthood on the 2009 New Year Honours List by the Queen of the United Kingdom. It's just incredible and God, I'm really, really happy for him. If some of you have never heard about somebody named Chris Hoy then I can tell you that is a cyclist who won three gold medals at the Olympic Games in Beijing earlier this year, he therefore became Scotland's most successful Olympian. He was also the first Briton in 100 years to take a hat-trick of gold medals in a single Olympic Games, and the most successful Olympic male cyclist of all time. So he certainly deserves the title.


"It's incredible and I'm absolutely delighted," said Hoy. "I still can't quite believe it to be honest. To be given a Knighthood is an enormous honour and it means so much to me and also to my family. I was stunned when I first found out and the news is still sinking in. I'm not sure if I will ever get used to people calling me Sir Chris!


"2008 has been a phenomenal year for British sport and cycling in particular, and it's good to see so many people in the sport being recognised for all their hard work and achievements," he added. "This is an amazing way to start the New Year and a tremendous boost for everyone."

Also his mother Carol has been honoured with a MBE (member) in the New Year honours list, for her contribution to healthcare.

But it's true, there are many more cyclists and people connected to cycling who will get a title in the Order of the British Empire and those are, except for (Sir) Chris Hoy (KBE).

Olympians: Bradley Wiggins (CBE), Victoria Pendleton (MBE), Rebecca Romero (MBE), Jason Kenny (MBE), Jamie Staff (MBE), Ed Clancy (MBE), Paul Manning (MBE), Nicole Cooke (MBE) and Geraint Thomas (MBE).
Paralympians: Darren Kenny (OBE), Sarah Storey (OBE), Aileen McGlynn (OBE), Jody Cundy (MBE), Barney Storey (MBE), David Stone (MBE), Anthony Kappes (MBE), Mark Bristow (MBE) and Simon Richardson (MBE).
Performance Director: David Brailsford (CBE)

I had to look at English Wikipedia to find out what all those letters were about so here is a small guide.

  • Knight Grand Cross (GBE) or Dame Grand Cross (GBE)
  • Knight Commander (KBE) or Dame Commander (DBE)
  • Commander (CBE)
  • Officer (OBE)
  • Member (MBE)
Say something: