My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

And I feel a thunder in my heart that I can't control

Category: Cycling

Things may happen quickly. One day you lead a race and the very next day somebody takes the leader's jersey from you. Yesterday Russel Downing took over the leader's jersey at the Tour of Ireland but in the end Marco Pinotti (Team Columbia) took the victory.
  Russell Downing, the Pinarello CandiTV rider succeeding in bringing back some dangerous move as Michael Barry (Team Columbia) and Julian Dean (Garmin Chipotle) attacked him, but when Pinotti raced clear with about ten kilometres to go he had nothing left and he could do nothing else than losing 33 seconds, which meant Marco Pinotti was the winner of the race.
Pinotti, a 32-year old triple Italian time trial champion was lucky as he got a gap and nobody could bring him back. So raced solo to the finish, and finished one minute and four seconds behind Rabon.
"I am delighted with this, it is my first stage race victory," he said. "This was already my best pro season but this is really the cherry on top of the cake - I am very happy. Before the stage I didn't think the circuit would suit me but it worked out very well. My team-mate Michael Barry attacked and after he was brought back, I went. I got a gap and was able to pull further ahead by the finish."

Frantisek Rabon (Team Columbia) took the team's fourth stage win in five days. So I dare to say that Team Columbia has had a great Tour of Ireland this year. 

Rabon and the Swedish rider Fredrik Ericsson (Pezula Racing) were part of a larger breakaway group but the group was reduced to two riders after the first of four ascents of St. Patrick's Hill. In the end Rabon won by fifteen seconds, as he accelerated and the Swedish cyclist had no chance to follow.

It seems the Swedish riders are in a good form at this moment.
Say something: