My name is Elin - A pro cycling lover's reflections

En av nattens roligaste historier...

Category: Cycling

Valeriy Kobzarenko came in all smiles from his time-trial today, shouting to anyone who would listen that he had rolled in at 36:08.
            "If I'm not mistaken, that's my time," said the 29-year old Ukrainian, his head wet from the sweat of 17-miles on an oak-lined county road south of San Jose.  His teammates Mark Walters and David Ben Brooks looked at him skeptically and began smiling.
            "Then that's the fastest time of the day," said Walters.
            "Like I said, if I'm not mistaken, that's what I saw when I crossed the line," protested Kobzarenko.
            "When your eyes were crossed and you couldn't see straight from the pain?" said Brooks, half teasing.
            "Maybe it was an eight," Kobzarenko admitted reluctantly.  "Hard to tell.  But I rode outside of myself today, I know that.  I felt great."
           It was actually a nine that he saw coming across the finish line, leaving him in 54th place on the day and 36th overall with a 39:08.  He smiled shyly and laughed afterwards at his own misinterpretation, gladly joking with his teammates about needing glasses and poor vision and sweat in his eyes.

(navpro.com)
Say something: